Whew, what a week!

Well, that was certainly a roller coaster of a week–not expecting that! This has been a TOTALLY different experience, and I’m loving it. On a personal level, I can’t remember the last time I truly wrote down my thoughts. I’ve never really blogged before, and it has been liberating; almost as if writing in a journal. Aside from the freeing experience, I also think I’ve been able to learn a little bit as well along the way:

1) I created my first blog! Here is a little bit about what it was like for the first time. Totally cool experience and I’m looking forward to building it and improvign on it throughout the semester.

2) I managed to work South Park into my coursework within the first week of class! I brought it up to discuss the shape of the story, which was a concept we learned about from Kurt Vonnegut. Check it out here.

3) I came up with the simplest definition of a story I possibly could. I tried to think about it as if I were explaining the concept to a child. I even talked about how the word “digital” adds a new dynamic to storytelling. Check it out here.

4) Lastly, I talked about a possible candidate for “storifying” – the most confusing road signs I’ve ever seen. This might not be the long term solution, but I think it’s at least a good starting point. Check it out here.

Overall, I think this week was a huge learning experience. There’s still a lot of work to be done, and I think my blogging can definitely improve. I also think I need to manage my time a little better, as this is not something that can wait until the last minute. When you put yourself out there for the whole internet to see, you need to make sure you are not simply “going through the motions.” This course is totally different than anything I’ve ever experienced, and I can’t wait to see where we land by the time the semester ends!

5 thoughts on “Whew, what a week!”

  1. This is a great summation. It made me curious enough to look at the posts linked to. I like the story about license exam and the confusing road signs in particular.
    Your language is clear and entertaining and you should keep your new writing even after this course!

  2. A cool guy writing about cool things! you are setting high expectations 🙂

    I am an open DS106 participant and look forward to coming to visit your cool blog in the next few weeks. DS106 *is* a totally different experience and one of the most enjoyable and full of learning spaces I know on the web.

  3. Completely agree with your roller coaster ride of emotions with setting up a blog and getting through the first week! I’ve never blogged either so setting up wordpress took a ridiculous amount of time (and I’m still getting used to it!). I am getting more comfortable with this notion of blogging and putting your ideas out there for the public to respond to. It is scary but freeing all at the same time! And, thanks for doing a great job with the weekly summary. I did not understand what Cog Dog was driving at with his description until I read yours…so THANKS!

  4. This is all new to me and I don’t have a clue what to do. I am still fumbling through the first week and it is the end of the second week. You have done a great job and definitely a level above and beyond what I can do.

Leave a Reply

